Day 23: Channeling Mindy Kaling

mindyFor those who are unfamiliar (I don’t know why though!) Mindy Kaling is the star of “The Mindy Project” and a hilarious writer/creator/actress.  Starting off on the American Office, she then got her own show picked up, which follows the life and love life of a doctor and her practice.

If you’re not watching it, watch it.

I loved Mindy Kaling on the Office but, I loved her even more when I found out that she wasn’t just an actress on the show, but also a writer.  In a world of old white men Kaling is the funny girl.  But she’s also not your “typical” actress face either: She’s an Indian regular sized women.  And she embraces it.  I love it.

I found her book on my Kindle a little while ago.  Now, after reading Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” (a work of true genius), I didn’t think Kaling’s book could come close to being even half as good.   But Mindy sets you straight right away, by praising Fey, and saying that this is a different book than Bossypants, so don’t compare them.  So I didn’t.  And that’s why I loved them.

Despite or because of her success, Mindy’s body has often been put in the spotlight.  The moment someone in Hollywood isn’t super thin or super big, everyone wants to know what’s going on.  It’s as if you need to choose a side.  Big or small.   Kaling writes in her book:

“I fall into that nebulous, quote-unquote, normal American woman size that legions of fashion stylists detest. For the record, I’m a size 8 — this week, anyway. Many stylists hate that size because I think to them, it shows that I lack the discipline to be an ascetic; or the confident, sassy abandon to be a total fatty hedonist.”

But despite her body itself always being in the spotlight, Kaling tries to succeed without using it to her advantage or disadvantage.  She doesn’t want to be categorized by her body size, but rather what she’s doing: the work she’s producing.  Yes, on her show, there are comments on body image/weight, but they are far from the focal point.  Her body isn’t what holds her back or pushes her forward in her dating life, it’s HER, who she is that does.   To me this means, let’s stop saying that our body is a hindrance or advantage for who we want to be or where we are going.  Happiness and self fulfillment aren’t going to come from how you look, but how you feel.  How you interact with who you are, not what you’d like to me.  Meaning, embrace your body, whether it’s thin, big, chunky, chubby, square, pear, hipless, hipheavy.  It’s you.  That’s that.

So today, I’m channeling Mindy Kaling.  In her book she writes that she’s always changing sizes, and it doesn’t really matter, because despite getting bigger, thinner or staying the same, she’s happy with her body and who she is.  So today, I’m putting aside my body and channeling the soul.

And soul: Lately, and much thanks to this blog, I’ve been feeling a real balance and happiness in my life: a sort of peace.  As someone who struggles with anxiety, you can imagine this feeling is a real treat.  I’m not going to fuss over when it’s going to break (which is my tendency), but rather embrace it, and enjoy it.  That’s the part of my soul I’m loving today. I need to keep doing what I’m doing and feel positive and keep smiling.

🙂

 

 

 

One thought on “Day 23: Channeling Mindy Kaling

  1. Pingback: The Journey Begun | Thick Chick Fitness Blog

Leave a Reply

