Day 17: Welcoming November

The coming of November brings a few great things:

mo1. Movember. I love Movember.  It’s that time of year when men grow crazy stashes, and it seriously cracks me up.  Movember is also great because while growing creativity on their faces, they are raising money to help the fight against prostate cancer.  Let the Mo’s begin!

2. It’s finally getting cooler out.  I welcome with open arms comfy sweaters and booties (finally!!)

3. American Thanksgiving.  My American friends reading this are going to die of happiness, but let’s all be honest, Canadian Thanksgiving is rubbish and whatever you Americans do is just magic.  Cinnamon, pumpkin, apple, turkey flavoured magic.   I’ll be forever shamed that I’ve put this down in writing, but I’m just being honest.thanksgi

4. Chanukah! Chanukah comes early this year, at the end of  November.  It’s going to be 8 days filled with doughnuts (which get more and more creative), singing, beautiful lights, and that general holiday spirit.  (and the first day coincides with American Thanksgiving now known as Thanksgivukkah, which I can only think of as a positive)

Hello little fried balls of heavenly amazingness.  I welcome you to enjoy yourselves in my tummy.

Hello little fried balls of heavenly amazingness. I welcome you to enjoy yourselves in my tummy.

5. National Novel Writing Month (otherwise known as NaNoWriMo) This is the month where people from all over challenge themselves to write a 50,000 word novel by the end of November.  I’ve taken this challenge upon myself.  Why? Well I’ve been sitting and staring for too long at the 15 pages of my novel-in-progress, and now I’m ready to jump start my creative juices and get this novel done.  The characters are drawn up, the plot is sketched out, I’m waiting on the words is all.  And so, even if I don’t finish my novel by the end of November, at least getting myself more motivated to write by challenging myself to join thousands of others as they start pushing out novels.

For today, I love that I love to write.  Books, poems, short stories, plays, etc.. are the best things out there.  The fact that I too get to create, is something I love about myself.   Today is a reaffirmation of my body love: I love my hair.  I know I’ve said it, but I’m loving it again today.  Why? It’s been so great lately.  It’s gotten longer, thick and I’m so grateful for it.

Please note, that while at the beginning of this challenge, I wanted to post something everyday.  Hence the 365 day challenge.  Every day, I’ve been challenging myself to look at myself in the mirror to appreciate another part of myself, or even to re-affirm something I’ve already mentioned.  However, to put it down every day in a blog has proved too difficult for my schedule.  I will try my best to blog everyday, and at least 4 times a week, however, I’m not going to be beat myself up if I’m enjoying life too much to write a blog post.

Leave a Reply

