Day 12+13: Weekend Getaway

Panorama of the sea in Tel Aviv

Panorama of the sea in Tel Aviv

Me and my flatmate spent this past weekend in Tel Aviv, on a “mini vacation”.

What it really meant was that we were dog sitting for a friend at her apartment in central Tel Aviv.  

But during the weekend, and also now upon reflection, I can’t get over how much fun we had: mainly because we were able to break away from the regularity of schedule and just relax in another city.  It could also be the calming air drifting from the sea. Either one. 

It’s not that my life in Jerusalem is overwhelmingly stressful, but that the environment around me has become synonymous with the pressures of being social, and the stress of work. (I work at home)  Sometimes you just need to get away to another city and experience it, in order to breathe again.  Walking down the boardwalk in Tel Aviv, with a cute dog, and just enjoying the wind from the sea is relaxing but at the end of the day it makes you appreciative: not just of where you are, but that you can do this.  I can reap these benefits.  

Because I was galavanting in Tel Aviv I owe two days worth of challenge:

Daenerys Targaryen- in dog form, enjoying the beach.

Daenerys Targaryen- in dog form, enjoying the beach.

Day 12: I love that I’m a dog person. Dogs are the cutest, most loyal animals and I’m happy I appreciate them.  And, if you can prepare yourself for CORNVILLE- I loved the way the sand felt between my feet.  Yes, yes, yes it’s cliche and corny, but can I not take a moment to appreciate my toes because of that?  

Day 13: Over Shabbat I was reading Michael McIntyre’s book “Life and Laughing“, which if you know McIntyre, you can imagine is hilarious.  I was laughing out loud half the time, (and the other half getting dirty looks from my roommate because I was disturbing the quiet book reading time… oops).  Reading his book reminds me how much I appreciate my own humour.  I have such a wide range of humour, in the sense that I find everything funny: black humour, slapstick humour, dirty humour, irony, self-deprecation humour: you name it (or just say it), I”ll probably laugh.  I love that about myself.  And body? I’m recalling something I wrote in an earlier post about thanking my body: my eyelids.  Why? Because they so nicely retain makeup.  

Have a good week everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

